Link to Chancellor's Student Service and Leadership Awards Webpage

Link to




SLDVS coordinates several annual awards and honors for UIC students. Whether based on campus or beyond, UIC celebrates the achievement of its many student leaders in a variety of ways, and SLDVS is proud to help recognize outstanding students learning through leadership and service each year.


One highlight of the academic year is the annual Chancellor’s Student Service and Leadership Awards (CSSLA) ceremony. Since 1973, the CSSLA ceremony has recognized outstanding student leaders and student volunteers who, while maintaining high academic achievement, demonstrate a commitment to the UIC community through participation in student organizations and campus activities and throughout the greater Chicagoland area through active service and community engagement.

2017 CSSLA Event Information

45th Annual Chancellor's Student Leadership Awards Ceremony

Thursday, April 20, 2017 Illinois Room of Student Center East, 750 South Halsted Street
4:30 p.m. – 5:30 p.m. Student check-in
5:00 p.m – 5:45 p.m. Reception with hors d'oeuvres
6:00 p.m. – 7:30 p.m. CSSLA Ceremony

Parking: Parking is available at the Halsted/Taylor Parking Structure (HTPS). Enter of Taylor Street. The fee for parking is approximately $9-$12.

Public Transportation: UIC is conveniently located just southwest of downtown Chicago. If you will be taking the Blue Line El, exit at the UIC/Halsted Stop and walk 2 blocks south. There are also four buses that come within 2 blocks of campus, the #8 Halsted bus, the #157 Streeterville/Taylor, the #7 Harrison, and the #60 Blue Island. For detailed directions, please use this link

Nominations closed Friday, February 10, 2017

Chancellor's Student Service and Leadership Awards (CSSLA) program logo

Students may be nominated for the following awards, presented each year at the CSSLA program:

  • The Chancellor’s Student Service Award (CSSA)
  • The Eugertha Bates Memorial Award
  • The Jane Addams Distinguished Service Award
  • Center for Student Involvement Annual Awards
  • Induction into the Activities Honorary Society


Since 1950, the Activities Honorary Society (AHS) has recognized undergraduate students whose leadership in a variety of student organizations has contributed to a better University of Illinois at Chicago community. The Activities Honorary Society was founded by student leaders at the University of Illinois Undergraduate Division at Navy Pier and weathered the transition to the Chicago Circle Campus and remains one of only two traditions remaining from the Navy Pier Campus.

Activities Honorary Society

In order to be eligible for inductions, undergraduate students must participate in at least three diverse student organizations and hold a key leadership role in at least one of the three. Nominees must be in good academic standing (2.5/4.0 minimum GPA), with at least 72 credit hours completed by the semester in which they are nominated. Each year, recipients are selected by AHS alumni. The member-selection format has a 65-year history and this loyal support of alumni makes AHS unique among student awards.


The Maurice Prize Competition is intended to foster innovation, creativity, originality, ingenuity, and resourcefulness among undergraduate students at the University of Illinois at Chicago (UIC). This is an annual competition for a prize of $5,000, for which all undergraduates at UIC are eligible to compete, using their own creativity and innovation in solving a problem of importance to them, therefore deepening their breadth of knowledge about themselves and their abilities.

In selecting a project of their own desire, it is the intent of The Maurice Prize that student competitors will experience an additional educational benefit outside of their standard academic coursework. Additionally, students will plan and execute a strategy to address their chosen issues while applying their own knowledge, creative use of resources, and the ability to work with others to find solutions.

Competitors may be either individuals or teams of students, but all must be currently enrolled undergraduate students at UIC. Faculty and staff may serve only as resources and may not participate in the Competition. Projects are of the students' own choosing and may include any endeavors or activities in which they are interested. However, while projects may be related to students' areas of study, they shall be extra-curricular and shall not be subject to direction and/or evaluation for credit towards fulfillment of degree requirements. This structure applies to independent studies as well as to formal classes. No class projects or papers are eligible to win this prize.

Individuals and teams may enter the Competition more than once if what they learned during an earlier Competition lets them develop their projects further. However, once a student has won The Maurice Prize, she/he shall not be eligible to enter the Competition again in future years.

The annual Competition is announced in late Fall semester, and prospective applicants are asked to submit a statement of intent to participate, which is reviewed by an Evaluation Committee comprised of students, faculty, and staff. If accepted, applicants are asked to use the months of Spring semester to develop their proposed project as fully as possible and to offer a presentation to the Committee on the project's results. The winner(s) of the Competition are announced in early Summer.

The Prize is administered by the Office of the Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs, and the annual Prize coordination process is supported by SLDVS and UIC Campus Recreation.